top of page

Thilak Weerasinghe re-elected as SLAITO President

Updated: Oct 21, 2021

Thilak Weerasinghe representing Lanka Sportreizen has been unanimously re-elected as President of the Sri Lanka Association of Inbound Tour Operators (SLAITO).

Thilak Weerasinghe

SLAITO, an approved association of The Ceylon Chamber of Commerce and the apex body for inbound tourism in Sri Lanka, handling 90% of all inbound tourists in the organised tourism sector, held its 41st Annual General Meeting recently on a virtual platform. SLAITO plays an integral role in all important private sector decision-making forums and has representation on the governing boards of the Sri Lanka Tourism Development Authority (SLTDA), the Sri Lanka Tourism Promotion Bureau (SLTPB), the Sri Lanka Convention Bureau (SLCB), the Sri Lanka Institute of Tourist Hotel Management (SLITHM) and the Tourism Industry Skills Council. SLAITO, formally known as Association of Group Tour Agents (AGTA), was established in 1975 and consists of Destination Management Companies who service the tourists in Sri Lanka. They represent foreign travel companies and charter operators who are the main source of suppliers of clients to all hotels in Sri Lanka, including beach resorts, the cultural triangle, the hill country and the deep south. The following Executive Committee members were elected at the SLAITO Annual General Meeting: Nalin Jayasundera of Aitken Spence Travels as Vice President, Nishad Wijetunga of Wayfarers Ltd. As Vice President, Bobby Jordan Hansen of Columbus Tours Ltd. as Hony. Treasurer, and Devindre Senaratne of JourneyScapes Travel as Hony. Secretary. Gayangi Wirasinha of Abercrombie & Kent Ltd., Chandra Wickremasinghe of Connaissance de Ceylan Ltd., Suren Ediriweera of Ceylon Tours Ltd., Harith Perera of Diethelm Travels Lanka Ltd., Padmini Paul of Golden Isle Travels Ltd., Rohan Abeywickrema of Hawk Travels Ltd., Nalin Malwenna of House of Travels & Tourism Ltd., Bandula Withana of Jetwing Travels Ltd., Nilan Wickramasinghe of Lion Royal Ltd., Nilmin Nanayakkara of Nkar Travels & Tours Ltd., Charith de Alwis of Tangerine Tours Ltd., Darshana Cabraal of Tour Blue Holdings Ltd., and Nalaka Amaratunga of Walkers Tours Ltd., were elected as members, while Mahen Kariyawasan of Andrew the Travel Company Ltd. joined the Executive Committee in his capacity as Immediate Past President.

Original Article :

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

SLAITO hosts press conference to oppose Minimum Room Rate

SLAITO along with ASMET & SLAPCEO held a press conference at the Ceylon Chamber of Commerce to once again opposing the uncompetitive practice of the Minimum Room Rates and the destructive effect it ha


bottom of page